Leadership @ FMC

Wherever you are on the journey to know God and walk as a follower of Jesus, we invite you to walk with us. If we can help you in any way along your journey, please don't hesitate to let us know!


Your friends in Christ,

First Missionary Church Staff

  • Rick Schwartz

    Rick is our Senior Pastor. Before coming to FMC, Rick, along with his family planted a church in Lima, Ohio, called CrossPoint. He loves discipling young men to become leaders in the church and the community and greatly enjoys spending time with his wife, Jamie, and their three children.


    E-mail: rick@fmcberne.com

  • Mike Wilson

    Mike is our Director of Creative Arts. He is passionate about people deepening their worship of God. From an early age, music has been Mike's passion. He loves leading a community of creative people to help present the Gospel in unique ways. Mike is married to Beth, and they have three children.


    E-mail: mike@fmcberne.com

  • Kate Uebersax

    Kate is our Discipleship and Family Pastor. She enjoys maps and exploring wherever she lives. She likes to play the guitar and sing with toddlers and the elderly. She likes organizing things so that others can be successful and so people can serve in areas that fit with their skills and abilities.


    E-mail: kate@fmcberne.com

  • Dathen Foust

    Dathen is our Pastoral Care and Visitation Pastor. He was born and raised in Berne. Dathen and his wife, Dawn, have two active boys. He enjoys spending time with people and being a listening ear for those who need to talk. Hobbies include reading and watching football.


    E-mail: dathen@fmcberne.com

  • Nate Rusticus

    Nate is our Student Ministries Pastor. He loves to see students start a relationship with Jesus and lead them in growing in their relationship with Christ. Nate and his wife, Rachel, enjoy reading books, talking about the Bible, and loving their neighbors (Matthew 22:39). They have two daughters.


    E-mail: nate@fmcberne.com

  • Brenda Heckard

    Brenda is our Executive Secretary. She is married to David, and they have four boys, two daughters-in-law, and two grandchildren. Brenda likes being here for people... being able to help wherever it is needed. She enjoys crafts, traveling, and reading.


    E-mail: brenda@fmcberne.com

  • Penny Haines

    Penny is our Financial Secretary. "You will never be poor as long as you have a penny in the house," is what she has been told. Penny and her husband, Steve, have been blessed with a daughter, a son, and 5 wonderful grandchildren, with another due in July 2019! She is always encouraging people and making sure that everyone is have fun.


    E-mail: penny@fmcberne.com

  • Nicole Dynes

    Nicole is our Communications Secretary. She has lived in Berne since she was born and loves serving in her hometown. She enjoys spending time with her dog, Petra, as well as playing guitar, traveling and being with family and friends.


    E-mail: nicole@fmcberne.com

  • Doug Schwartz

    Doug is our Head Custodian. He and his wife, Linda, have two grown children, a daughter and a son. His gift is fixing and repairing items, which he can use serving the church. He enjoys motorcycles and restoring his car.


    E-mail: doug@fmcberne.com